Skip to content

The Borovkoff Blog

Neo-Pagan Modern Thoughts On Society

I fondly remember the first time I saw a computer at the Lawrence Hall of Science in Bezerkely. I was bored. It did not impress me and I only thought, whats the big deal? So what, you can input numbers and the computer can print out an image of Snoopy using dots on really weird, stiff, paper? Who needs that?!

When I was younger, I used to love the show “Land of the Lost”. It was entertaining and the father wore tight corduroy jeans, with that oh so sexy 70s fashion look! Unlike the remade movie, it was an entertaining show about people lost in a land where prehistoric creatures reigned supreme.

Here it is 2011, and modern technology has its own Land of the Lost. Its a land composed of people who want to still use DOS programs and other older software for fear of the new.  For some, new technology is blasphemous in its movement forward and its constant need to improve our lives by making obsolete technology…..well…..obsolete. Kind of like floppy disks!

Different Floppy Disks of the past.I fondly remember the first time I saw a computer at the Lawrence Hall of Science in Bezerkely. I was bored. It did not impress me and I only thought, whats the big deal? So what, you can input numbers and the computer can print out an image of Snoopy using dots on really weird, stiff, paper? Who needs that?! Later, computers began to move into the household and my father bought a Morrow computer based on a very obsolete programming language called CPM. It had some interesting programs and fun games but no graphics.  It taught me basic programming and allowed me to look inside the innards of the bits and bytes future.

Then the world of DOS took over and was quickly followed by Windows and Apple technology making our computer experience GUI relational and easier for everyone. We got spoiled. We became fat and lazy and began to expect technology to do the hard stuff for us. DUH! That’s what computers are for right?

Now the iPad and mobile technology is freeing us from our cushy rolling office chair and allowing us to move about freely and still be productive. (Isn’t that what laptops were supposed to achieve way back when?) What a novel idea! All we have to do is watch where we are walking while we are typing.

In a morning discussion this morning, I realized that there are still people out there though that depend, want and need old software and obsolete technology, for whatever reason that may be! Hence, we learn how to walk around and find old stuff in the Land of the Lost…

Old software that is no longer supported by their creators, nor sold by any money hungry agency is called, “Abandonware”. Most of the time its free if you search long and hard enough on the internet. Search for your software desired and add the variable ‘abandonware’ to your search. You will be shown the world of the Land of the Lost and the now FREE! (I burn with anger at how much money I spend buying software that came on floppy disks back in the day! I made someone rich and now its all FREE! Dude, I am glad your company went under during the dot.com bust! That’s what greed will get you in the end!)

Now, the problem is that if you did not keep your old, substandard desktop computer to run that old software you will also have to search for what is called an “Emulator”. These are made for most obsolete programming systems and are mostly free as well and will work on most PCs as well as Macs. They basically will slow down your machine so that it is able to run that ancient piece of genius from the big hair 80s. Search around and I bet you will find that you can find that old game that you used to play in 1987, or that scientific software that cost $599 and was used to draw fractals, but now its free.

 But my opinion, based on downloading software that had fond memories of my youth, and running them on my newer computer with smart little emulators, I began to realize that the Land of the Lost is not for me. I like the new, the fast, the zippy, the easy, and the graphically superior technology that we have now. More power to you if you like the old stuff better, but “See ya and wouldn’t want to be ya” if you DEPEND on the old stuff.

Tags: , , , , , ,

