Skip to content

The Borovkoff Blog

Neo-Pagan Modern Thoughts On Society

So I guess the thought behind my feeble message today, is that living life only half way is still far better than not having that life to live at all.

Image of a drawing of a face in quarters.Most days in my life I wander around doing normal things, thinking of myself as normal and healthy, and feeling physically normal and healthy. I play tennis. Create art. Listen to music. Go on hikes and long walks. I enjoy the seasonal weather as part of life’s great cycle. I even plan for the future and think of things that I would like to do later in life.

And then sometimes, a deep shadow falls across my soul. And I remember. I remember that I have a horrible disease inside of me that is doing everything it can to kill me. And if I let down my defenses for just a moment then this evil force within me will take over and stop me from living the happy life that everyone else takes for granted.

Its at these times when I realize that all people living with AIDS are living in the shadow of death. And as long as we can breathe we will always know that we are living in that shadow.

Some people that are living with AIDS just give up and start or continue destructive ways of living. Others change all of the patterns in their lives and try to live healthier lives than they normally would have aimed. And most of us, live in the middle path doing a little of both. Its an individual choice that each person has to make. But we all must recognize that we need to appreciate and be thankful for the time that we have here on earth and the blessings that we get each day.

I blog about this today, because recently one of my friends summarized what living with AIDs and taking the meds that keep us alive is like. He said, “Taking HIV medications is equivalent to having Chemotherapy every single day of our life for the rest of our existence.” The statement struck me hard. And I realized that though doctors are doing the best that they can to keep us alive, they are pumping us full of lethal doses of chemicals while having no idea what effect those same chemicals are going to have on us in the future.

So I guess the thought behind my feeble message today, is that living life only half way is still far better than not having that life to live at all.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

