Skip to content

The Borovkoff Blog

Neo-Pagan Modern Thoughts On Society

If only every day in our life could be exciting, wonderful, filled with positive experiences, and just overall great! Sadly, we all have that day where it starts hard to get out of bed and then by afternoon we wonder why we even bothered getting out of bed at all!

Image of a person at the beach during sunset.If only every day in our life could be exciting, wonderful, filled with positive experiences, and just overall great! Sadly, we all have that day where it starts hard to get out of bed and then by afternoon we wonder why we even bothered getting out of bed at all!

There is a saying in tennis, that you never learn from your victories, but only learn from your losses. The same is true in life, we only learn and evolve from our down days and our bad days. Those deep days of dispair and sadness or the cranky feeling that you want to smack everyone you come in contact with, are actually the days we are evolving the most. Because after all, you really didn’t smack those people did you?

Can we make our down days less down? Can we make good from bad? Yes, of course. We need to regroup ourselves. We need to focus our energy on something more positive and more “feel good”.

To get out of that cycle of bad day feelings, we need to focus our energy on a positive thought. A light and happy memory from our past. The feeling we had when we received good news. The happiness that life brought us at some time in the past.

For me, when I am having my down days, I try to remember my mom. I try to hear her laugh and see her giggling face. I try to hear her counselling voice telling me what to do to get out of my problematic stage. I think about waking up as a child to the smell of freshly brewing coffee in the kitchen and my mom ironing my father’s shirts for work. I remember the early morning sun coming in the kitchen window while my mom quickly made everyone breakfast so that we would do our best at school and start the day out right. I fondly remember my mom laughing as she snared us with April Fool’s jokes right when our sleepy heads were freshly out of bed and not quite awake to her wit and wiles.

For me, those memories of my mom are my fondest memories of my life. If I never feel those things again I realize then how lucky I was to have felt them once in my life. Some people never get to feel those things. How lucky we are to be ourselves and to feel the gratitude for all of those experiences that make us who we become in the end. Memories are not physical things, just like life is really not a physical thing. Life and memories are a state of mind. Something that our soul carries with us always and treasues forever and ever, like the warm smell of pancakes cooked by mom on a sunny school morning so long ago.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

