Skip to content

The Borovkoff Blog

Neo-Pagan Modern Thoughts On Society

Two tools that I have started using more and more in unison stem from my iPad. They are both apps and in unison have given me joy and started to help me experiment in life again. They are Sketchbook and Typedrawing. Both excellent apps.

Experimental image of a pink flamingo done with Sketchbook and Typedrawing apps for iPad.

Experimental image of a pink flamingo done with Sketchbook and Typedrawing apps for iPad.

After the death of my mother, I found myself with complete and utter artist block. I had pulled out of every gallery I had been in and withdrawn. My paints, pencils, pens, paper, sculpting supplies and everything else went into storage. And so years have passed me by. A deep depressive block settled on me and I would not allow myself to expose anyone to my art or my creative side at all.

Slowly over the last ten years I have started to venture out. Normally there is someone there to send me back into the blocked box that I have dwelt in and which has become my home for far too long. And many times all it took was a look of disgust or misunderstanding. Depression is a sickness. I know from my family history that it is something that I will need to survive for the rest of my life. I tell myself daily, “Deal with it Adam. Get over it. Get out of bed. Go to work. Be productive.” For anyone that has struggled with deep depression then they know how hard those words are to hear yourself saying over and over to just get yourself to maintain a life of “normalcy”.

Two tools that I have started using more and more in unison stem from my iPad. They are both apps and in unison have given me joy and started to help me experiment in life again. They are Sketchbook and Typedrawing. Both excellent apps. Both giving the artist the actual sense of having pen or brush in hand and being able to manipulate color, shape and dimension. Especially when used with a stylus.

My iPad has become a life line to the rest of the world. One that I am trying dearly to hold onto rather than fall into that pit of darkness where I have seen others transcend.

Tags: , , , , , ,

