Skip to content

The Borovkoff Blog

Neo-Pagan Modern Thoughts On Society

I have had my Kindle DX for more than a year already and I have been watching electronic ebooks invade the world of reading. Sorry to say, but the day of the hard copy, paper based book is very quickly coming to an end. I see it in my profession. I see it in my normal home life. And I now see it clearly based on the general public’s acceptance of electronic books versus paper books.

I have had my Kindle DX for more than a year already and I have been watching electronic ebooks invade the world of reading. Sorry to say, but the day of the hard copy, paper based book is very quickly coming to an end. I see it in my profession. I see it in my normal home life. And I now see it clearly based on the general public’s acceptance of electronic books versus paper books.

Image of a stack of hard back books.Books are changing. Download Flipboard for iPad and you will get a taste of where written media is headed. Interactivity, accessibility, vivid visuals, and a user friendly environment are quickly replacing books. Flipboard is the precursor to the electronic book in its eventual final stages. It offers a customizability that is second to none. Imagine, you can even add your Facebook and Twitter friends posts to your Flipboard in the same environment. Flipboard is one of those apps that once you download it on your iPad you will find yourself using it everyday. Now, how about teaching the average person how to create content directly for Flipboard?!

Additionally, now that Pages can create epubs, I think you are going to see a movement towards adopting Pages as a standard in desktop publishing. The epub format is winning in its dominance as a standard. Bye bye problematic PDF! No longer will I be forced to figure out complicated Adobe menus and intricate complicated solutions to simple page layout issues with InDesign. Pages has a user friendliness that everyone needs to use. My creative juices begin flowing the moment I open Pages and begin working on a project. It is wonderful and I cannot encourage you to use it more! Yes, Pages for the iPad is a more simplified version than Pages for the Mac, but it has most of the wonderful artistic ability that the full Pages owns.  I have both and I love them both. Plus, converting a document to an epub in Pages encourages people to create their own books for iBooks, and that is a great thing!

Once printing from the iPad is a standard built-in ability, I think you are going to have to say goodbye to Microsoft’s dominance in the office. I already have. There is simply no comparison.

Download Flipboard and Pages. You will be very happy that you did and will begin to think with the right side of your brain even more than normal!

On the dark side of the moon, what is the opposition to the movement to make books electronic? The only good argument I have heard is that people like the smell and feel of an old book and the feel and smell of bookstores. Good points all. I am sure someone is going to come out with an air freshener named “Musty Book”, if they have not already done so!

Tags: , , , ,

