Skip to content

The Borovkoff Blog

Neo-Pagan Modern Thoughts On Society

Walk rage…what is it and are you a responsible walker? Walk Rage is just like road rage minus the automobile. But the rage is still there. The anger at others is still there. And the way people walk around a Rager just seems to irritate the rager that much more!

Image of people walking down train tracks.Walk rage…what is it and are you a responsible walker? Walk Rage is just like road rage minus the automobile. But the rage is still there. The anger at others is still there. And the way people walk around a Rager just seems to irritate the rager that much more!

You know that in modern times people are just not interacting with each other as much anymore. And usually we are all about getting what is due us! We want what is ours and we don’t care who gets in our way. Walk Rage stems from this idealized way of thinking.

I normally go for a walk during breaks at work. It helps to clear my head and listen to friends talk as we walk. I notice the trees, the flowers, the smell of the air, and listen to other’s problems and sometimes share mine too. Its healing and soothing and helps me to work more productively through the rest of the day.

Every once in a great while, on one of these walks, we come across Walk Ragers. They are walking to either blow off steam or because their car broke down and they have to get to work on foot. Or just because the planet was created for their own personal enjoyment and to hell with everyone else in their path. Its sad.

You know a Walk Rager by the look on their face. They have no emotion. Their eyes are glazed over thinking about how horrible life is and what they are going to do with the mess when they get home. They walk towards you without budging from your path even an iota. This is THEIR path and you just better move out of their way.

Most times I have seen Walk Rage accompanied with others. Two people walking side by side down a narrow path. We are coming the other way, head on into the world of Rage Walking. Today I watched as the Walk Rager just didn’t acknowledge our presence on the planet at all and headed straight for me. My first instinct was to think “what an angry lesbian!” Not nice. And perhaps not correct either. But never the less, that is what I thought. Lesbian wants man to move. Man moves. Lesbian feels successful in triumph over man. Case closed.

After today’s Walk Rage I asked my friend walking with me, “why do people do that?”. Neither of us knew. But we were both glad the Walk Rager was not driving because we would have been dead, me first of course!

So remember, when walking down a narrow path, move to the side a little. It won’t kill you. It will make you feel better about yourself and the kindness and politeness that you just gave another human being.

Finally during our walk, a quote came to my mind that my mother used to tell me, especially when life was not treating me well or there were really bad problems looming all around me. She would say, “No matter how bad your problems seem to be, just wait a while. Time will take care of them whether you do anything or not. No action needed. Time will take of all your problems. And eventually those problems will cease to be.” Damn, that is so true!

Tags: , , ,

