Skip to content

The Borovkoff Blog

Neo-Pagan Modern Thoughts On Society

Remember when you were a little kid and summer vacation seemed to last forever? A day was an eon and a month was unfathomable. We played all day and slept all night and rarely wore a watch. We walked barefoot in the grass, tried new things, learned new things and seriously appreciated the smallest thing that life gave us.

In 2010 we are too busy. We are too busy and we have too many things. It seems like we are no longer living life and enjoying the moments that we each have, but are only focused on collecting things. We are focused on collecting things, collecting friends, moving up in life, speeding up time and going places.

The really funny thing is there is no place to go. We are already here! Its time for us to start slowing down. We need to slow down and take stock of everything that we have and give thanks for those things, rather than wish for more things, better things, things that we don’t have yet.

Let’s make a vow to just enjoy this one day. Let’s try to appreciate today’s few moments. Because before you know it, those moments will be gone and we will only have them as memories and then we will wish that we had more moments.

Some of my favorite memories are of times when I did nothing but live. I just was within myself, enjoying the moment and not thinking about the future nor the past. I was present, fully present. It rarely happens this way anymore. I worry constantly. I worry about the death of my family and friends. I worry that I am failing and that life is slipping me by too fast. I worry that nobody will like me and that I will end life alone.

And then I snap out of it. And then I realize that I “am” alone. That this journey is mine to travel by myself. That life is pain, misery, disease, death, abandonment, and many more lessons on reality. Its at that time that I become ok with myself and at those ok times I slow down. And when I slow down, guess what, life is far more enjoyable, wonderful and long lasting. It seems that time slows down and each minute is like an hour.

Remember when you were a little kid and summer vacation seemed to last forever? A day was an eon and a month was unfathomable. We played all day and slept all night and rarely wore a watch. We walked barefoot in the grass, tried new things, learned new things and seriously appreciated the smallest thing that life gave us.

Let’s make a vow that today we become our child again. Do it for yourself.Image of a painted heart.

Tags: , ,

