Skip to content

The Borovkoff Blog

Neo-Pagan Modern Thoughts On Society

Road rage, the modern roadway enemy that makes spouses into widows, children into orphans, and complete strangers into your worse enemy. “Why do you feel that you belong entwined in the bad karmic day of this stranger?”

Road rage, the modern roadway enemy that makes spouses into widows, children into orphans, and complete strangers into your worse enemy.  I used to be plagued by this disease of the wheel and the gas pedal on a daily basis. I am sure it had to do with my consistant high blood pressure. It was for sure a suicide death wish deep inside my psyche that just would not go away. And it didn’t matter whether I was driving my metal heavy Jeep Wrangler, or my inky dinky, road bump of a Mazda Miata. It just didn’t matter. I took every single traffic violation as a personal afront against my own personna.

Road rage claims hundreds of lives each year. It spans class, stature, auto type, personality type, and even sexual persuasion. It is a rabid disease that has infiltrated our entire American society and just does not seem to go away. Neither is it a ‘new’ disease, for indeed it was well documented in novels such as The Great Gatzby by F. Scott Fitzgerald. It has quickly taken hold of our commuting culture and has become a pervasive in our daily lives.

My past experiences with road rage included car races at high speeds down busy suburban streets, just SO that jerk of a driver could not cut in front of ME! No way was I going to let that person get the better of me. No way! Or how about the anger that boiled inside of me when a 4×4 sped past my little itty bitty sports car only to flash a pro-Bush bumper sticker. That was certainly enough reason to chase the fast moving 4×4 down and cut them off only to flash my anti-Bush bumper sticker, and then quickly try to evade him by driving 100 miles an hour cutting in and out of traffic, through parking lots and past populated school zones. Or how about the audacity that soccer mom had when she cut in and out of traffic as glimpsed in my rear view mirror, only to try to cut in front of me. LIKE HELL SHE WAS! I didn’t care if that woman with the mini-van, 12 late teens to a soccer game and a really bad perm needed to be somewhere fast. I wasn’t going to let her win the race!

Certainly my road rage had become a daily occurance and one that was threatening my life as well as others. It was reckless. It was stupid. And it was not based on any bit of reality. It was false pride

Finally, during a Buddhist retreat (an obvious antithesis of road rage), I told my mentor about my habit and my loss of control. Calmly, my mentor looked at me and said “Why do you feel that you belong entwined in the bad karmic day of this stranger?”

“Why do you feel that you belong entwined in the bad karmic day of this stranger?”

HUH? You mean I am not part of this maniac driver’s life? You mean I actually have a choice? HUH? I thought I was forced into this unfortunate circumstance! I could not believe that I was actually choosing this idiotic pattern for myself!

From that moment on I have not had road rage again. Yes, sometimes I get this burning urge deep down in my stomach that suggests that I run down that BMW driving 20 something girl with a phone plastered to her ear, passing everyone via the right hand lane on my way to work. (Yes, girlie, you know I am talking about you!) But then I slow down and think, ‘her day is really not going very well and she is in that horrible cycle of karma that will force her to come back in her next life as an ugly, hairy, black fly.’

 That is when I will swack her with my fly swatter and say “Biatch! No you didn’t!!!!!” or maybe not.

Tags: , , , , ,

