Skip to content

The Borovkoff Blog

Neo-Pagan Modern Thoughts On Society

Based on the ghostly look of film trailers I was originally thinking that this was going to be just another ghost story, little girl dead trying to communicate to her family and show them the hidden whereabouts of her decomposing body. Boy was I surprised!

Now out on DVD is “The Lovely Bones”, directed by Peter Jackson, and starring Mark Wahlberg, Susan Sarandon, Rachel Weisz and Saoirse Ronan as our lead character Susie Salmon.

Based on the ghostly look of film trailers I was originally thinking that this was going to be just another ghost story, little girl dead trying to communicate to her family and show them the hidden whereabouts of her decomposing body. Boy was I surprised!

This was pure pleasure in a film. I love a deep movie, filled with visual symbolism forcing the viewer to think rather than just watch, while taking on serious and oftern threatening subject matter. And this film hits all of those points while giving us believable characters, situations and a varied plot that hooks us in right away and keeps us on the edge of our seat through the entire film. This is probably one of my favorite films of the last year. The photography and visual images are stunning, shocking and often soulfully thoughtful and compelling.

I was looking forward to another eerie ghost story and was given that plus a whole lot more. This film transcends religious points of view, implementing Christian, Agnostic, Buddhist and Pagan ideas of life after death and allowing the viewer to come to their own religious interpretation. I love that!

I will not spoil an iota of the plot for you, but will only tell you that if I had children I would make this mandatory to watch. It teaches deep lessons of respect, caution, modern threats to childhood innocence and parenting on its deepest level. It lets us see a snapshot of our American society now in comparison to when we ourselves were small children and the world was seemingly more innocent, or so we thought!

I cannot recommend this film enough and now will avidly read the novel from which this film is based. Just when I thought Hollywood had no relevent substance anymore, a movie like this is born and given to us as a true treasure to proudly own in our own library.

Tags: , ,

