Skip to content

The Borovkoff Blog

Neo-Pagan Modern Thoughts On Society

Since owning the iPad for over a month now, I have been driven to buy apps and games and use it on a constant day to day basis. The apps just keep getting better. The games just keep getting better. And this morning I have realized that I rarely touch my laptop (either Gateway or Macbook) and I rarely use my iMac. It has replaced all of these devices and I am very happy that it has come into my life.

When the iPad was released last month, I didn’t stand in line or pre-order it. I was skeptical and

image of an iPad

iPad

unsure. So I figured that if I really wanted it and time permitted itself, I would just go to an Apple store and buy one. The day of its release, I found time, and thought “oh, why not. If there is a big line I will just not do it today and wait until the dust settles.” So in the middle of the afternoon, hours after its release, I wandered into Arden Fair mall in Sacramento and walked up to the Apple store. No apparent line, but staff was standing outside. They asked me what I wanted and I said I was here to buy an Apple. (My mind was already thinking that they were all sold out and I had no chance today). The employee asked me my name, told me to wait in an invisible line, and within a second someone came out of the store and called my name. Are you kidding? Were there invisible people all around me that I did not know about? But that day I did buy my iPad and as I walked away from the store with my happy purchase in hand, I glance back only to see a REAL line forming. hmmm that was odd. Since then of course, Apple is selling the iPad like hot cakes and converting unbelievers to the half eaten fruit symbol with mystical powers.

Apple is amazing in its packaging and marketing. Make no mistake about it. They really know what they are doing and are driving a dying tech market in a period of lack of funds everywhere. Just touching the iPad box is a mystical experience that cannot be described. Tell me that this company does not dabble in the dark arts and has not cast some sort of enticement spell all around their products.

The iPad is a wonderful creation and well worth the money. It will for sure change the way we do a lot of things and has revolutionized the tablet computer and mobile gaming once more. It is easy to hold, easy to look at and is a work of art to display. People flock around it when you have it out and are amazed at the simple technology.

Since owning the iPad for over a month now, I have been driven to buy apps and games and use it on a constant day to day basis. The apps just keep getting better. The games just keep getting better. And this morning I have realized that I rarely touch my laptop (either Gateway or Macbook) and I rarely use my iMac. It has replaced all of these devices and I am very happy that it has come into my life.

Currently I have to say that the covers and sleeves available lack in many ways. I own the Apple cover that acts as a stand and was one of the first one out on release. Its ok. Just ok. I think designers need to design FOR the iPad and all of its uses. Where are the sleeves for pens and phones? Where are the interlocking options to modify the way the iPad stands up?  But I expect that designers are going to get on this and create some stunning covers/stand/portfolios.

I carry the iPad with me pretty much everywhere I go now. Work, home, fun places. It is easy to carry, though feels rather fragile, even with a protective sleeve. And I have to say that I do love touching it. Sometimes I just hold it for the pure pleasure.

The iPad has changed the way I do many things. And I am impressed by the follow-up creative genius that is putting out apps and games each and every day. Some of the apps that I would like to see are: retro gaming emulators, better PDF and file management, and maybe a remake of that classic chess like game Archon!

And I do feel compelled to write some reviews on some of the better apps. There are lots of reviews out there on apps, so I will only focus on ones where there is not much written yet. And those are plenty for sure!

Overall: Go out and get one. You won’t be disappointed and will quickly realize that you WANT to use this thing on a daily basis and that shortly after buying it, you will start to use it more and more to replace other electronic gadgets that you own.

Tags: , , , , , ,

